Discriminant Analysis & Allocation Tools

Discriminant analysis is an essential statistical tool that can be used when you have got a set of records / respondents which are classified into some segments or clusters and you need to predict the segment for a new respondent or set of respondents:

  • discriminant analysis allows identifying a set of key variables that are most differentiating with respect to these segments / clusters;
  • discriminant analysis also allows assessing the relationships between these key variables and the clusters, so that
  • the user can statistically assign a new record / respondent to the most likely cluster it belongs to, according to its answers / observed values on these key variables.

These key selected variables and relationships are then translated into a set of rules used by a platform (usually referred to as segmentation typing tool or allocation tool) that enables its user to predict the most likely segment a record / respondent belongs to.

In order to ensure long-term success of a segmentation project, the typing tool should:

  • be characterized by a limited number of questions (e.g., 5-6 variables in a tool to be distributed among medical representatives; 8-12 variables in a tool used to allocate respondents in a follow-up research project);
  • have the questions carefully selected – predictive accuracy should be maximized;
  • be able to predict the most likely segment with the lowest classification error;
  • be built via a robust discriminant-type algorithm with cross-validation;
  • be deployed on a user-friendly platform.

Privacy Preference Center

This site uses cookies

Our website uses cookies to save access information, screen visualisation options, and to allow us to examine site traffic and user activity while on our site.
If you do not wish to accept the cookies below, please leave this website immediately and delete/clear the cookies through your browser settings/options.

WordPress, Wordfence Security, GDPR Cookie Compliance
Google Analytics
LinkedIn

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?